Dr. Laura Schlessinger quits Radio Show (edited)

I never use the ‘N’ word but I do understand Dr. Laura’s point and I agree with what she had to say to this caller.  She could of gave her 2 cents worth without saying the “N” word a dozen times. But it’s the same for those who use the homophobic word and the word I hate most, “faggot”. People use it so freely only ‘outsiders’ use it. So why isn’t there an uproar whenever this word is used? Yes, because the ‘N’ word is a black thing, just like most things when we dont’ get what we want.

And I am convinced the caller who called into the show did it to set her up and also because she wanted her 15 mins of fame. Suddenly, she’s all over the talk shows.

Dr. Laura Schlessinger , the conservative talk radio host who set off a furor last week when she used the “N-word” multiple times while answering an African-American woman troubled by racist comments, said Tuesday night that she will end the show when her contract expires at the end of the year.

 The controversy began when the caller to her show, who is married to a white man, said she was troubled by the fact that he ignored comments offensive to her when they were made by family members and friends.

 

Laura SchlessingerSchlessinger apologized on her blog and on her show but, when that triggered only more debate and criticism, she went on “Larry King Live” and said she would not renew her contract at the end of the year.
“I want to regain my First Amendment rights,” she said, according to the New York Times. “I want to be able to say what’s on my mind and in my heart and what I think is helpful and useful without somebody getting angry, some special interest group deciding this is the time to silence a voice of dissent and attack affiliates, attack sponsors. I’m sort of done with that.”
She told King, “I’m not quitting. I feel energized actually — stronger and freer to say the things that I believe need to be said for people in this country.”
Schlessinger has been on the air for three decades and, at its peak, the show was the second highest in radio ratings after Rush Limbaugh, the Times said.