We tell ourselves there’s nothing to fear. But sometimes we’re wrong. (Revised)

"The film you are about to see is inspired by true events. According to the F.B.I there are an estimated 1.4 million violent crimes in America each year. On the night of February 11, 2005 Kristen McKay and James Hoyt went to a friend’s wedding reception and returned to the Hoyt family’s summer home. The brutal events that took place there are still not entirely known."

More about "the inspired by true events" later..

thestrangers.jpgTonight my friend and I went to see the movie ‘the Strangers’, a horror film. I’m a big fan of good (horror) movies, the kind that keep you on the edge of your seat, it’s stimulating, exciting and it takes you on a rollercoaster ride. And to get the full affect of horror films (along with big epics) you have to see it on the big screen with surround sound.

I would say for half of the movie I was doing just that holding onto my seat, but I found the movie a bit predictable.  The first time director did a good job by starting the movie off slow (kinda like hot sex you gotta build up to the climax), because as I watched I held on to my seat wondering when the big thrill was going to happen, call me a sissy but I was literally holding onto my seat and in the beginning I wondered when it’s all gonna start (which is a good thing, because it’s unexpected) the terror began with a loud knock on the big door (with no peephole) suddenly some woman in the back of the theatre yells, the audience laughs.

So it’s about a young couple staying in an isolated summer home in the middle of nowhere (something about that is creepy, living in a remote location away from neighbours and far far away from civilization, never in a million years will I).  Anyway, as I mentioned the terror starts with a knock on the door and one of ‘the strangers’  at the door asks for someone who doesn’t live there, a few minutes later another knock, this time in a psycho tone voice the stranger replies "Are you sure?"

Much of the film revolves around the strangers cutting off their means of communication, stealing and destroying the phones in the house, and then preventing any chances of escape such as destroying the car and setting it on fire.

And to be honest as I type this blog I am still quite spooked (revised from lastnight) I kept waking up all night. The director did a good job setting up the whole plot, the remote location of the house,big hallow doors with no peephole, the ‘terrorists’ masks, and the sound affects. The sound affects in this movie is what scares ya.

I’ve seen quite few horror flicks and I walk away feeling unsatisfied but ‘the strangers’ I wanted more. If you want to be stimulated and spooked go see it. I give it at B+.

By the way, a spoiler…. but as soon as I got home I researched this movie and found that it’s not based on anything true, the narrative opening is a marketing gimmick. It just makes it more spooky when they say it’s based on true events. Just like how the ‘Texas Chainsaw Massacre’ and ‘Amtyville Horror’, both are fiction even though they use that marketing gimmick "inspired on true events".

Also, the movie was suppose of been released last year, but the release date was pushed back twice and finally released this summer. And for a first time director of this movie, he did a good job.

 If you’ve not seen the trailer to the movie watch it here…   www.thestrangers.net

For those who know me, I’m a sort of a harsh ‘judge’, so for me to give good remarks about this movie, it says alot.

The thing I love about watching movies on DVD are the extra features, I’m gonna buy this movie when its released onto DVD because of the extra features. I love behind-the-scenes stuff.

My friend and I saw this move at the new’y built AMC theatre’s at Dundas Square in downtown Toronto.  I hate how they built the place, you buy your tickets on main level then have to take about 5 different escalators to get to the theatre’s, quite annoying. For those of us who only want to see a movie without passing through all the stores to the theatre, it’s a big nuisance. Nonetheless, the seats in the theatre are very comfortable, they recline and they have tall backs and there’s plenty of space between rows which is a plus for taller people, to extend your feet, cross your legs or whatever.

For those who are interested, no need to wait for the extra features…

http://www.terrorfeed.com/search.php?movie=6151

Leave a Reply

